Grade my 70's team...

Our Mystery Card games - Superstar Sixties, The '70s Game, Back to the '80s, Back to the '90s, Dynamite 2000s

Moderators: Palmtana, coyote303

• Author

Ikes

Grade my 70's team...

PostFri Oct 19, 2012 12:47 pm

Veteran managers,
I am new to strat on-line. One season almost complete and it was not very successful. New season coming up.
Give me a grade on this draft...what might be some weaknesses and opportunities? Much appreciated.
C-Gary Carter
1B-Mike Hargrove
2nd-Julio Cruz
3rd-Larry Parrish
ss-Rick Burleson
LF-Jose Cruz
RF-Ellis Valentine
CF-Cesar Cedeno
DH-Willie McCovey
SP-Catfish Hunter, Mike Cuellar, Juan Marichal, Dennis Leonard
RP-Rollie Fingers, Joe Hoerner, Paul Lindblad, Ron Schueler, Doug Bird

hallerose

Re: Grade my 70's team...

PostFri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 pm

C-Gary Carter D - THERE ARE PROBABLY ABOUT 10 BETTER CATCHERS FOR THE MONEY.
1B-Mike Hargrove -- F, NOT ONE OF THE 12 BEST 1B IN THE SET.
2nd-Julio Cruz C, DECENT BACKUP OR MAYBE PLATOON. NO POWER.
3rd-Larry Parrish C, 2 YEARS ARE CUT, 2 YEARS ARE PLATOON VS. L (WITH SOMEONE LIKE HEBNER), 1 GOOD YEAR.
ss-Rick Burleson C, OK DEFENSE, BUT DOESN'T HIT.
LF-Jose Cruz C, DECENT BUT THERE ARE MUCH BETTER VALUES.
RF-Ellis Valentine F, HE IS ALWAY IN THE FREE AGENT POOL. ONE OF THE MOST OVERPRICED CARDS IN THE SET.
CF-Cesar Cedeno A-, EXCELLENT CF, 2 GREAT YEARS, 2 GOOD YEARS. SPEED, DEFENSE, MAYBE A LITTLE EXPENSIVE
DH-Willie McCovey A-, 1 GREAT YEAR, 2 SOLID YEARS, BUT VERY INJURY PRONE, YOU NEED TO HAVE A SOLID BACK UP READY TO GO.
SP-Catfish Hunter B, GOOD PITCHER, BUT MAYBE OVERPRICED,
Mike Cuellar, D, MAYBE THE MOST DECEPTIIVE CARD IN THE SET, HE BENEFITED FROM GREAT BALTIMORE DEFENSE, TEAM AND BALLPARK, AND THE CARD DOESN'T PLAY WELL.
Juan Marichal, B, DECENT VALUE, BUT SOME OF HIS YEARS DON'T PLAY WELL
Dennis Leonard C, USUALLY DOESN'T PERFORM UP TO HIS CARD.