Page 1 of 1

Infield In

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:03 pm
by jgmadigan
It seems like I've had a lot of situations in close games in the 4th inning and later where I have the infield in with less than 2 outs and the runner on 3rd scores on a groundball out. See below example. I have the infield in setting for the 4th inning. In both the bottom of the 4th and the bottom of the 5th, the runner on 3rd scores with less than 2 outs on a groundball. Shouldn't the infield in be preventing that? Am I missing something?
https://365.strat-o-matic.com/game/450490/257

Re: Infield In

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 11:33 am
by jfreeman
jgmadigan wrote:It seems like I've had a lot of situations in close games in the 4th inning and later where I have the infield in with less than 2 outs and the runner on 3rd scores on a groundball out. See below example. I have the infield in setting for the 4th inning. In both the bottom of the 4th and the bottom of the 5th, the runner on 3rd scores with less than 2 outs on a groundball. Shouldn't the infield in be preventing that? Am I missing something?
https://365.strat-o-matic.com/game/450490/257


Superadvanced rules show that a gb(c) with bases loaded should result in lead runner out with infield in. Infield back will result in run scoring.

Re: Infield In

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 12:38 pm
by PATRICKCASSIDY
jpfreeman:
Superadvanced rules show that a gb(c) with bases loaded should result in lead runner out with infield in. Infield back will result in run scoring.



sorry, I am not understanding that as an explanation related to the root question that started the thread

Re: Infield In

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 1:45 pm
by paul8210
From the help screen: "This setting dictates the earliest inning of a game you would bring your infield in in appropriate situations."

I'm going to say that "appropriate situations" is the operative term. I'm guessing "infield in" doesn't mean the infield is in 100% of the time whenever a runner is on third. Maybe, the infield is in 83% of the time in the situation presented. Who knows?

Had the infield been in then Gwynn's groundball to first base in the bottom of the fifth would not have resulted in a run scored when the super advanced table 3 infield in chart is reviewed (scroll about halfway down to find the infield in chart)
https://www.baseballthinkfactory.org/bt ... mrules.htm

Re: Infield In

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 5:32 pm
by jfreeman
PATRICKCASSIDY wrote:jpfreeman:
Superadvanced rules show that a gb(c) with bases loaded should result in lead runner out with infield in. Infield back will result in run scoring.



sorry, I am not understanding that as an explanation related to the root question that started the thread


If you look at the example from jgmadigan,in the 4th inning, batter rolls a 4-8 = gb(c) with the bases loaded. Run scores and batter is out.

Re: Infield In

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2020 4:20 pm
by cpugs22
From my playing days, sometimes infield in equates to corners in, so you gbc to ss would allow the runner to score.