stadium choice

Moderator: Palmtana

• Author

TheGreatestSOMFan

stadium choice

PostSun Feb 11, 2024 3:40 pm

is there any guidelines other than draft power hitters for HR parks and good pitchers hi-OBP players for pitcher's parks ?.....is there more to it than that ?

home/road:

my season is almost over and I'm 10 games over .500 at home, and like 20 games under .500 on the road.....

it's a 12 team league, so it seems unlikely my squad matches up badly with all stadiums

any input or thoughts ?

thank you

btw, apologies for team/manager name....it's not my main one, just made a new one to practice and was frustrated by recent results

padrenurgle1

Re: stadium choice

PostTue Feb 13, 2024 11:00 pm

I've been playing SOM online for many years: 114 teams, 49 playoff appearances, 14 championships. Various formats, but mostly 12 team keeper leagues 2007-2022.

I personally have had more success with pitcher's parks, so I can tell you a few things about them. I think most people go with homer parks for obvious reasons (they're fun!), but building a team around a pitcher's park can give you quite an advantage. First of all, you can afford to have modest-salary pitchers with good peripherals whose salaries are tanked because of their bp hr ratings. Put good homer prone pitchers in the Coliseum and they slay, because their bp homers die in the outfield. This works even better if you just have a couple of those guys, at least 6 SPs, and can sit them when they're on the road. You can also carry relievers who are the same: low WHIP but high HR guys. Save some money to spend on hitting and defense. Putting CYA guys in pitcher's parks is sort of overkill and they end up being just as good (not really better) as in any other stadium.