Question on Starting Pitching

Moderator: Palmtana

• Author

JGoodrich

Question on Starting Pitching

PostMon May 11, 2020 9:45 am

I just started playing in my first league with Strat-o-matic - 12 teams; 2019 season.

I am 12 games into the season and my starting pitching which I thought was pretty solid going in based on their 2019 MLB stats have gotten rocked around pretty good and I don't understand why? Any suggestions if I am missing something on a setting?

Thanks.

Rhu - 3 starts, 7.98 ERA and 1.42 WHIP - settings wide open, normal rest
Bieber 3 starts, 12.75 ERA, 2.75 WHIP - settings wide open, normal rest
Scherzer 2 starts, 12.47 ERA, 2.08 WHIP - settings wide open, normal rest
Chirinos, 2 starts, 14.22 ERA, 2.69 WHIP - quick hook, normal rest
Gallen, 2 starts, 5.40 ERA, 1.71 WHIP - quick hook, normal rest

freeman

Re: Question on Starting Pitching

PostMon May 11, 2020 9:51 am

Need to provide a link to your team so people can analyze potential issues. But without that...what is your defense like? A really bad defense can turn good pitchers into mediocre ones. I think those numbers will settle down a lot no matter what but they are also very concerning. And are you playing in a real offensive park like Coors?

JGoodrich

PostMon May 11, 2020 10:09 am

Hi Freeman,

I have only 8 errors in 12 games so don't think that is driving the offense against my pitchers.

Here is my roster: https://onlinegames.strat-o-matic.com/team/1572015

My home park is Globe Life Park.

My pitching is by far the worse in the league and it just does not make sense to me looking at my pitching vs the rest. Should not be that kind of gap even though small sample set.

freeman

PostMon May 11, 2020 10:43 am