Reading Player Stats - Help Needed Please

Moderator: Palmtana

• Author

Stinedurf

Reading Player Stats - Help Needed Please

PostWed Sep 12, 2012 12:55 pm

Yes, I am brand new to the game. Yes, I have searched the forum and FAQs, so please be merciful. Before setting up my draft order I have downloaded the spreadsheet with the player stats. I am having a lot of trouble decoding what the entries in the "fielding" and "stealing" columns mean. If someone could break down the parts of the samples below I think I would be good to go.

2011U Mike Napoli Fielding Column: c-3(-1)e1,T-8(pb-0) / 1b-4e6

2011U Alejandro De Aza Stealing Column: (A) *2-6,12/- (17-15)

Thank you!

geekor

Re: Reading Player Stats - Help Needed Please

PostWed Sep 12, 2012 1:20 pm

not sure SOM knows their links under the FAQ are broken.

Here's the best quick info I could find to explain it to you

http://somonline.wikia.com/wiki/Strat-O ... Game_Rules

Mean Dean

PostWed Sep 12, 2012 2:43 pm

Yeesh, that's kind of ugly. Lemme try in English.

Okay, when you see something that looks like "3e1", "4e6", etc., the first number is the "range" rating, and the second number is the "error" rating. The error rating is pretty simple -- if the guy played every inning of every game at this position, it's how many errors you'd expect him to make. But of course, a fielder could make few errors and yet be a bad defender because he doesn't get to many balls either, or the opposite could be the case. So you also have the range rating, which is on a 1-5 scale where 1 is Gold Glove quality and 5 is a butcher.

If you want to see how many runs allowed an infielder or outfielder's defensive rating adds up to, check out my article on the subject.