Pulling my hair out

Discuss different strategies for any of our player sets

Moderators: Palmtana, coyote303

• Author

MARKSERRI

Pulling my hair out

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 1:06 am

I’m new to 365 but have been playing Strat for years.
I’m my last game had a close game going into the 9th
inning . My catcher Cochrane reached first and Bill Spiers
is sent in to pinch run . That’s fine . Nothing comes out of the
inning on our end . For some insane reason Spiers stays in the
game to catch , although he is not rated there and Elton Howard
and Jamie Quirk are both in the bench available to catch .
Bottom of the ninth , two quick outs then
Kiner walks ,Guillen pinch runs , steals second , Stargell
is HBP and then Guillen steals third and of course Spiers throws
the ball away . I am trying to give Hal credit for making moves
I’m not seeing but it’s like he was trying to throw the game .
Maybe I’m not seeing something and I’d welcome any thoughts
anyone may have .But if I keep seeing moves
like this I don’t think I’ll be staying around as it’s too
frustrating . It’s a shame because I really love the concept .

https://365.strat-o-matic.com/game/453605/198

tdkearns

Re: Pulling my hair out

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 8:44 am

I have had issues with catcher substitutions late in the game . I think it’s a known glitch. I’ve sent emails to customer service a couple of times over last year or two with no results.

MARKSERRI

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 9:28 am

I sent an e mail to customer service as well.
If it’s a known glitch I wish they’d fix it .
You spend so much time carefully inputting
specified lineups , pitching rotations , general
strategy and the computer manager is not
intelligent enough to substitute a catcher for
another catcher ? It’s as if Hal had bet money on
the opposing team. Come to think of it HAL from
2001 had some pretty questionable intentions
in the end ....

paul8210

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 4:24 pm