Steal Rating - Understanding pickoff chances

Discuss different strategies for any of our player sets

Moderators: Palmtana, coyote303

• Author

Richard Zagrzecki

Steal Rating - Understanding pickoff chances

PostWed Jan 06, 2021 4:25 pm

Hi. I am new to Strat-O-Matic 365. I have read through the rules and generally understand most of them, but I need some clarification on understanding the steal ratings -- specifically, the numbers listed for pickoff probability.

For example, Mally Trillo (1979) has the following steal rating: *2-6,8/7,9-12 (15-4)

If I understand correctly, the "*2-6" represents the roll needed for getting a good lead, and the "(15-4)" represents 1-15 as being the roll for "safe" if they got a good lead, and 1-4 being the roll for being safe if they did not get a good lead.

But I am confused by the "8/7,9-12" in the middle. Can someone explain to me how exactly those numbers are applied to determine the chance of being picked off? And if I misunderstood any of the other portions of the steal rating, please correct me. Thanks!

toshiro

Re: Steal Rating - Understanding pickoff chances

PostWed Jan 06, 2021 7:26 pm

This -> 2-6,8/7,9-12 is based on 2 6 sided dice

so if you roll 2-6,8 you get the interval and can roll on the 15 w/whatever other modifiers to see if you steal a base.

if you get a 7 or 9 - 12, then you're out.

Richard Zagrzecki

PostWed Jan 06, 2021 11:04 pm

toshiro wrote:This -> 2-6,8/7,9-12 is based on 2 6 sided dice

so if you roll 2-6,8 you get the interval and can roll on the 15 w/whatever other modifiers to see if you steal a base.

if you get a 7 or 9 - 12, then you're out.

Thanks. That makes sense now. It was the slash mark that was throwing me off and keeping me from understanding what is actually pretty simple!

coyote303

PostThu Jan 07, 2021 1:43 am

Incidentally, the out is considered to be caught stealing, not a pickoff.