SORE LOSER

Discuss different strategies for any of our player sets

Moderators: Palmtana, coyote303

• Author

Dan Collura

SORE LOSER

PostMon Mar 21, 2016 3:34 am

I admit that I am a sore loser and I know you are dying to hear why.

I've been playing SOM since the 1965 season. I'm a former professional ballplayer (SF Giants). For the first time, I have joined an introductory SOM fantasy BB League. Before I continue, I have an engineering degree and M.S. degree. I only say this to let you know that I am very familiar with statistics, probability, etc. So, I know a little bit about what I am talking about. I have the baseball knoweldge plus computer programming plus math background. That leads me to a few observations and perhaps I can get help from some of you old pro's.

I'll give you an example. I drafted four quality pitchers (Kevin Brown, Tom Glavin, David Cone, and Curt Schilling). In my 21 game intro league, they collectively made six starts and went 0 for 7. Not only did they lose but they were blown out all seven games. Not only did my four starters get blown out but my closer and top reliever, Trevor Hoffman got blown out too. The numbers were off of the chart. I.E.. Kevin Brown 10 IP, 17H, 4HR, etc. After two starts apiece and blow outs, I dumped all of these guys and got new pitching. I end up with Dennis Eckersley who was the best CL of all Free Agents. I could never get a game close enough to use Eck. All games lost games (12) were blow outs. Not even close. Yes, I used "Aggressive Relief," both for individual and team. I used "Quick Hook" to try and stop the outrageous pitch counts, etc. Nothing worked.

FYI. My starting pitching was so bad that my league leading offense couldn't overcome it. I end up finishing in 4th place. Terrible.