Help Understanding Base Stealing

Discuss different strategies for any of our player sets

Moderators: Palmtana, coyote303

• Author

AndrewD

Help Understanding Base Stealing

PostSat Feb 27, 2016 9:45 am

Need some help here...I will leave Running for a different thread as what's got me frustrated this morning is Stealing (though equally challenging to understand). Can someone help me understand why Ichiro hit into a double play in the bottom of the 3rd? Wiggins on first, *18, strategy set on Aggressive Steals. 1-8 gba+ vs. a lefty resulting into a double play. Why wasn't that a single 2 base? http://365.strat-o-matic.com/game/playbyplay/428833/208

Based upon what I have seen so far this season (I am new to Online) I will draft differently next time - any additional thoughts on the team are appreciated!

milleram

Re: Help Understanding Base Stealing

PostSat Feb 27, 2016 5:10 pm

super advanced rules do not use GBa+---and online, while not using all the SA rules, does use this one.

When a runner is held there are two fielders responsible for holding him, the 1B and either the 2B or SS depending on which side the batter hits from---the way SA rules deal with this is when a GBx is hit to one of the responsible fielders, the range goes up 1 (so a 1 fielder becomes a 2, etc) and 4 extra single chances are added.

Effectively-- a 1 infielder that is responsible for holding the runner becomes a 4 in terms of Singles allowed, but a 2 in terms of Double plays turned off the x-chart. (it can be a 3B if holding a runner on second)

A gba+ is just another gba with these rules.

AndrewD

PostSat Feb 27, 2016 6:08 pm

Thanks Milleram! Serves me right for drafting a team at 'face value'. Next time I will read the rules :D All those Single** are also turning our to be running decisions as well. Now I have a little better understanding as to why people draft so much power...

MARCPELLETIER

PostMon Feb 29, 2016 2:12 pm