Estimated Runs Produced

Discuss different strategies for any of our player sets

Moderators: Palmtana, coyote303

• Author

ringojb

Estimated Runs Produced

PostFri Dec 19, 2014 10:52 pm

I'm a newbie to the online game. Is there a place where each players Estimated Runs Produced rating is listed. Using the formula in the OFFENSE vs DEFENSE pdf. by Dean Carrano?

ringojb

Re: Estimated Runs Produced

PostSat Dec 20, 2014 5:50 pm

Or is it suggested to buy the SOM ratings book and compute it myself? Or does the SOM ratings book contain the calculation?

ycbill

PostSat Dec 20, 2014 10:14 pm

The Strat-O-Matic ratings book gives most of the numbers referred to in that great Strat-math article. However, the 2013 season book (which I bought last year) does not give the stolen bases or caught stealing numbers. Those SB/CS numbers are given in the season player list EXCEL spreadsheet data downloadable for free from the Strat website when the cards become available. If you buy the ratings spreadsheet download (which has the ratings book data) you can combine the data in one spreadsheet and fiddle with the numbers to your heart's content. I write this with a grand total of one year of very enjoyable experience playing Strat on-line, and hope you have many enjoyable times and teams as well.

ringojb

PostSun Dec 21, 2014 8:45 am

Thanks! I am currently 2 games under .500 and my star player has been out for 15 games and just got injured again for 7 games (with a 1 injury rating). It's still fun though.

I may get the ratings download when the 2014 game comes out.

Valen

PostMon Dec 22, 2014 12:01 pm

If you are going to do some kind of runs produced model for the cards you might want to ignore the real life stolen bases. Why?