Memories of the 1969 Game

Our historical single season sets

Moderator: Palmtana

• Author

kenhutchings

Memories of the 1969 Game

PostTue Jun 25, 2013 6:17 pm

I know there have been various postings lamenting the disappearance of the 1969 game. I, too, am a former participant. Even though we don't have access to our old 1969 leagues (and it certainly seems that we've waited long enough), I thought perhaps a thread like this might spur Stratomatic into resuming the 1969 game.

When I started playing online Strat back when it was being run by Sporting News, my very first team was a mystery card 70s team. Although I had selected Rollie Fingers for my relief pitcher, I missed him in the draft and ended up getting Grant Jackson, and he ended up performing well for that team (1976 version, 26 saves/35 opportunities, 4-6 W/L record).

My second team was a 1969 team, and because of his performance on that 70s team, I selected Grant Jackson as one of the pitchers for my team. Well, during the course of the season, he ended up pitching a no-hitter (my team was the Hamsters, and the opposing team was the Kittens). So that is one of my fondest memories.

There were lots of fun theme leagues. One time I participated in one where we selected two teams for our players. I had a combination of the San Francisco Giants/Boston Red Sox. I ended up making it to the Finals of that league, and I ended up losing the 7th game by one run against a combo Pirates/White Sox team, if my memory serves right. The final out for that game was a lineout by Willie McCovey with the bases loaded. I had swept the Semi-Finals, and in the ten games of the postseason McCovey did not hit a single home run, so that was disappointing. Ray Culp had a monster season for me; at one point he pitched something like four consecutive shutouts.